Grantee Reception is Sunday, September 18, 3 to 5 PM

The Falmouth Cultural Council will host a reception in honor of its FY20-22 grant recipients at the Falmouth Art Center’s Outdoor Classroom on Sunday, September 18 from 3 to 5 PM. The Art Center is at 137 Gifford Street. The public is invited to attend.

The grantee reception is the Council’s opportunity to honor artists and organizations who enrich Falmouth with programs and projects in the arts, humanities, and interpretive sciences, and to share information about past and current projects. Light refreshments will be served.

Laura Reckford, director of the Falmouth Art Center will welcome attendees, and Alice Kociemba and Marilyn Rowland, officers of the FCC, will host the event. Local elected officials have been invited to attend, to learn more about the grant program, and speak about the arts and the importance of funding local artists and arts organizations. Jane Parhiala will also be on hand to talk about the FCC’s ArtMarket, which helps supplement state funding for the FCC grant program.

Several grant recipients, including playwright Shelby Allen, Jacek Zuzanski of Dreamtale Puppets, Suzy Bergmann of West Falmouth Library, Mary Wilson of Pitter Patter Puppets, Tony Sadera of Falmouth Community Television, Kirsten Karplus of ArtsFalmouth, Barbara Burgo of the Cape Cod Cape Verdean Museum and Cultural Center, singer/songwriter Dawna Hammers, Mwalim of the GroovaLottos, Ilene Karnow of the North Falmouth Village Association, and others will give demonstrations and/or talk about their projects.

Information will also be available on the current (FY23) funding cycle, which opened September 1. Applications are due by October 17. More information will be available at the FCC’s grant writing workshop, which will be held Tuesday, September 20, at 7 PM in the Bay Room of the Falmouth Public Library.

For more information on the reception and on the grant program, visit or email

Due to the pandemic, Grantee Receptions were not held in 2020 and 2021. Thus, this year, the Cultural Council is honoring grantees from FY20, FY21, and FY22.

The grant recipients are Shelby Allen, Alzheimer’s Family Caregivers Support Center, ArtsFalmouth, The Awareness Project, Beyond the Bounds Cape Cod, Andrew Giles Buckley, Cape Cod Cape Verdean Museum and Cultural Center, Cape Cod Chamber Music Festival, Sarah Caruso, College Light Opera Company, Cultural Center of Cape Cod, Linda Dias, Dyer Maker Studio, Ensemble Passacaglia, Eventide Theatre Company, Falmouth Art Center/Falmouth Artists Guild, Falmouth Chamber Players, Falmouth Historical Society, Falmouth Makers, Sandra Faxon, Friends of Nobska Light, Sean L. Fullerton, Hortense Gerardo, Dawna Hammers, Handel + Haydn Society, Highfield Hall & Gardens, Steven Hurlbut, J. E. Ingoldsby, Timothy D. Kane, Jennifer Kenyon, Diana Lee, Stephen Lewis, Long Pasture Wildlife Sanctuary, Native Plant Trust, Natural Deathcare Collaborative, North Falmouth Village Association, Oversoul Theatre Collective/Song Keepers, Quartett Giocosa, John Root, Tall Richard and the Nightowls, Tri-County Symphonic Band, West Falmouth Library, Linda Whitehead, Mary Wilson, Woods Hole Historical Museum, Woods Hole Public Library, Woods Hole Theater Company, Rachel Youngling, and Jacek Zuzanski.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *